1996 Rosenblatt Recipient

Anne G. Osborn

A.B., M.D., F.A.C.R., Distinguished Professor of Radiology, William H. and Patricia W. Child Presidential Endowed Chair in Radiology

A medical pioneer in the field of neuroradiology, Anne G. Osborn is nationally and internationally recognized as a physician, teacher, lecturer, and author. Described by her peers as an 'inspiration, leader, and pacesetter,' Dr. Osborn's contributions to the University of Utah and to the field of diagnostic imaging are unique and far-reaching.

After earning her undergraduate and medical degrees from Stanford University, Dr. Osborn remained at the prestigious California school to pursue her postgraduate studies in diagnostic radiology. In 1974, she joined the faculty of the University of Utah School of Medicine and was named full professor in 1982. She was awarded the title of Distinguished Professor in 2000. Dr. Osborn is the first individual named to the university's William H. and Patricia W. Child Presidential Endowed Chair in Radiology, honoring pioneering Utah women in medicine. The Child endowment acknowledges Dr. Osborn's vital role in the department and provides funding for her research and international education outreach efforts.

The first woman to head the American Society of Neuroradiology, Dr.Osborn was recently elected first vice- president of the Radiological Society of North America. Her landmark book, 'Diagnostic Neuroradiology', has become the standard teaching text for diagnosing brain diseases and is used throughout the world. The Association of American Publishers designated it as the best textbook in clinical medicine published in 1994. Her most recent textbook, Diagnostic Cerebral Angiography, has been a best seller since its publication in 1999. She has written two nonfiction inspirational books, 'TheSimeon Solution' and 'The Amulek Alternative,' and her first novel, 'SecretSanta', was published in September, 2000. Among her many awards, in 2000 Dr.Osborn was the first recipient of the Outstanding Educator Award from the Radiological Society of North America.

A generous philanthropist in her own right, Dr. Osborn contributed her monetary award from the Rosenblatt Prize toward the R.C. Willey Endowed Chair in Radiology. She and her husband, Ronald E. Poelman, are enthusiastic advocates of public higher education and have established a professorship in the Gordon B. Hinckley Endowment for British Studies in honor of Hendrik and Ella Poelman.

Stories & Publications

Past Recipients

1995 Recipient
Peter J. Stang
Learn More
1994 Recipient
Karen R. Lawrence
Learn More