1986 Rosenblatt Recipient

Milton E. Wadsworth

B.S., Ph.D., Dean of the College of Mines and Earth Sciences Distinguished Professor of Metallurgy

Professor Wadsworth has been teaching at the University of Utah since 1951. He was instrumental in establishing the energy and minerals research center on campus. His principal areas of interest are in the surface chemistry of mineral systems, hydrometallurgy, the kinetics of extractive processes, and more recently electrochemistry applied to mineral systems. He is an internationally recognized pioneer in developing the scientific basis for metallurgical engineering, and has been a recipient of the university's Distinguished Teaching Award and Distinguished Research Award. He has received the Governor's Medal for Science and Technology and will serve as president of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He has been awarded honorary doctorates from the University of Liege in Belgium and the Colorado School of Mines. He received AIME's Minerals Industry Education Award in 1981 and the Outstanding Educator Award in 1989. He has won best paper awards twice from AIME's Metallurgical Society and twice from the Society of Mining Engineers.



Professor Wadsworth has been in administration for 27 of his 40 years at the university, a period in which he has produced 26 M.S. degrees and 42 Ph.D. degrees. "An important measure of his success as a teacher," a colleague wrote, is the quality of his products. His former students have been highly successful and pay tribute to him as a teacher." His teaching has included courses in advanced mineral dressing, physical metallurgy for undergraduates, x-ray diffraction, and physical chemistry of extractive metallurgy.



Stories & Publications

Past Recipients

1985 Recipient
John A. Dixon
Learn More
1984 Recipient
Sterling M. McMurrin
Learn More