2014 Rosenblatt Recipient

Randall J. Olson

Professor and chair of ophthalmology and visual sciences and CEO of the John A. Moran Eye Center at the University of Utah

Olson received his M.D. from the University of Utah School of Medicine, where he was its only ophthalmology faculty member in1979 and has been a full professor since 1982. He was appointed as the first John A. Moran Presidential Chair of the University of Utah School of Medicine in 1997, and became the CEO of the Moran Eye Center in 2006. The Moran Eye Center has brought together life-changing research, renowned patient care and academic excellence in one outstanding institution.

Under his leadership, the U’s department of ophthalmology and Moran Eye Center grew from that single faculty member to more than 500 employees, including more than 30 practicing ophthalmologists and 25 world-renowned researchers. Olson has made them among the nation’s top ophthalmology programs and vision institutes in the world.

According to Olson, Moran staff and faculty deserve credit for his receiving the Rosenblatt Prize. He cites their accomplishments and dedication to the Moran’s mission of commitment to research that focuses on finding effective treatments and cures for blinding eye diseases for making this recognition possible.

Colleagues of Olson’s note that the culture of collaboration and excellence he creates is the envy of many departments. His selection as president of the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology is a testament to Olson’s influence and prominence in the field of ophthalmology.

Olson is the author of more than 300 professional publications and a worldwide lecturer. He specializes in research dealing with cataract surgery complications and infectious ophthalmic diseases.

Honored with the 2014 Rosenblatt Prize for Excellence for his forward-thinking leadership of the Moran Eye Center, putting it on the national map.

Stories & Publications

Past Recipients

2013 Recipient
Kathryn Bond Stockton
Learn More
2012 Recipient
Michael W. Varner & Kathleen B. Digre
Learn More