1997 Rosenblatt Recipient

David W. Pershing

B.S., Ph.D., Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Fuels Engineering

As senior vice president for Academic Affairs, David W. Pershing's remarkable influence as an administrator and distinguished faculty member is felt campus-wide at the University of Utah. Recognized initially for his scholarly achievements, research, and teaching, Dr. Pershing has transcended the role of professor to also be valued highly for his abilities to direct the university's comprehensive, and often complex, academic missions.

Dr. Pershing received his undergraduate degree from Purdue University in 1970, and his doctorate in chemical engineering from the University of Arizona in 1976. He joined the University of Utah's engineering faculty in 1977, and has, for nearly a quarter of a century, been influential in the outstanding growth of the College of Engineering. As dean of the college from 1987 to 1998, he worked with the faculty to significantly expand both the state funding and external research awards.

Among few faculty at the university to receive both the Distinguished Teaching and Distinguished Research awards, Dr. Pershing is nationally renowned for his research in two areas: the formulation and control of pollutant emissions from fossil fuel combustion and the incineration of solid waste materials. Today, despite a full slate of administrative duties, Dr. Pershing continues to remain actively involved in his research interests and receives grants and contracts in excess of $1 million annually supporting his efforts.

Dr. Pershing is the recipient of the 1995 Governor's Medal for Science and Technology for the State of Utah and the 1997 Utah Manufacturer's Executive of the Year Award. He travels nationally and internationally sharing not only his perspectives on environmental problems and pollution control, but also now as academic vice president, his vision for the future of the University of Utah, its students, faculty, and the community-at-large.

Stories & Publications

Past Recipients

1996 Recipient
Anne G. Osborn
Learn More
1995 Recipient
Peter J. Stang
Learn More